Hammock
    DIY Table Cloth
    Tarp
    Thunderbird
    Insulation
    Still looking
    Suspension
    DIY-learning

Is there a "Where to begin" type of thread?

I am in information overload. I am totally new to the idea of a hammock. I am still trying to learn the different types of hammocks and all of the lingo you all use.

I am starting to come up with an idea of what I would like, but I just don't know where to find the DIY instructions for what I want to do. I obviously want it to work the first time so I want to rely on all of your experiences.

DH and son are in Cub Scouts and we will be moving on to Boy Scouts when son ages in to it. I would love to see them embrace the hammock style camping, but would also want them to be able to carry their stands with them in case there are no trees available.

So, here is what I think I want to do......table cloth hammocks with bug nets. I want to sew the channels in to the ends. DH is about 6', so I don't know what size tablecloth to get for him. Would they be able to use their sleeping bag in the hammocks or does that not work?

I think I would like to start with just doing the hammocks in the back yard. I would love to set posts to be able to hang 4 or 5 hammocks on. I saw someone used some poles that are used for piers. We don't have any of them around, but may have access to telephone poles. However, they are covered in creosote and I don't like that idea.

Where do I begin?j We are DIY type of people. We just need good instructions.

Tablecloth hammocks
    bug nets that can be set aside when not needed or put on when needed
    poles for hanging. I have a tree in mind that would be a great central pole and just work around that
    What kind of ropes or fastners for hanging the hammocks?
    What else for a total noob?

THANKS!!!

Hammock
    DIY
    Images