WBBB & HH Exped Zip
    Tarp
    SF, HH Hex
    Insulation
    JRB Grlk3,EERevX20
    Suspension
    Web/Whoopie Sling

Go to Ground Back Ups for Backpacking?

While I've been hanging for a couple of years now primarily as a base camper, I'm looking more into backpacking. Got my gear and pack weight down pretty low, but find myself at this early stage lacking experience relative to whether hanging is permitted or available on any given trip. I know there are some states and parks where hanging is not permitted, and I have been invited on some trips where the host claims that there may not be trees (kayak/canoe/beach, etc.), where I pack a tent, leave my hammock home, only to find out I could have used my hammock.

Any of you guys bring along a back up ground option, like a thermarest neo and an ultralight trekking pole-style tarp tent, etc.?

I'm sure just really doing my homework before the trip is the best solution, so I just pack the one shelter (hammock or tent), but am just curious. I've not had much success in pitching my WBB and SF as a bivy, etc.
    Last edited by JumpinJackJim; 04-07-2014 at 11:12. Reason: Typo
    J3

"No Matter where you go, there you are." -B. Banzai
    -Crede quod habes et habes-

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 Dbl
    Tarp
    DIY CF Asym
    Insulation
    Zpacks HGincubator
    Suspension
    Webbing
    Most hammocks can double as a bivvy. (And you already have a tarp)

Quote Originally Posted by JumpinJackJim View Post
    I've not had much success in pitching my WBB and SF as a bicycle, etc.

No, I'm not sure that you can make a hammock turn into a bicycle, even with 50 guylines .

Did you mean you used the bike as a fake tree?

EDIT: Saw your edit. How are you setting up the bivy?

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images