Tarp
    All Purpose
    Insulation
    UG Zepplin 20
    Suspension
    DIY Straps&Whoopie

CA>June Lake/Yosemite>9-13 Aug 2014

Hi Westcoasters

I am from New Zealand and have done a reasonable amount of camping (not so much from my hammock, but working on that), I plan to travel with my hammock/fly/sleeping bag/underquilt while I visit your fair shores.

I have a lovely 5 day window while my lady goes on a horse trek from June lake and I was thinking it would be lovely to do some day-treks and some camping, this leaves me with the "where".
    I have done a bit of research around where I could go, and Yosemite is an obvious one.

I will have a rental car so could head anywhere (within reason).

I am a pretty keen photographer and would love to find some spots to get some decent photos.

Do you have any suggestions of where I should do my day-treks?
    Any recommended camping spots?
    Any must-visit places?

I have planned to head up to Tulloume Medows and do a trek around there maybe Cathedral Lakes/Lembert Dome.
    I am not too interested in doing anything that is going to be crammed with tourists, I would rather be more backwoods than the super popular tourist destinations.

And this all leads me to another question I have about these bears you guys have.
    Here in New Zealand we have pretty much nothing to fear in the wild (we have 2 spiders which are deadly, but more people are killed by vending machines than these spiders) so I am not entirely sure about this whole not being the top of the food chain thing.
    I have been made aware of these bear container things for your food/smelly stuff which seem like a good idea, but the whole concept of bears roaming around your campsite and having a go at your food container freaks me out. Seems to me like once they fail to get the food from your canister their next move will be to eat the nice meat burrito hanging from the tree.