Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I want to make a general camping tarp

I am new to this so i don't know all the websites to buy materials yet.

Do you think it is possible to make about a 10'x12' - 14' tarp for under $40?

I just need a square one unless someone convinces me that the catenary cuts are worth the time. This will _not_ be covering a hammock, but just used at the camp site for a little extra rain protection.

Material suggestions are appreciated! Is there a newbie kit i can buy? Anyone have a recipe i can follow?

It needs to be light and help keep the rain off of 4 people sitting under it.

I have made quilts and know how to use a sewing machine.

I like this one, but is there any other design i should consider?
    http://diygearsupply.com/wp-content/...arp-lowres.jpg

Thanks!

Probably in the ballpark anyways..
    That tarp looks like a pretty good design, and fairly straight forward.

http://ripstopbytheroll.com is on these forums often, they have 1.1oz Silnylon for about $6 per yard, so given the 9 yards that tarp calls for, your at ~$60 for the material, considering shipping.
    May well be other cheaper sources, look through the Vendor forums. If you really want to get the cost lower, but are ok working for it, you can silicone coat your own nylon, lots of threads on here to follow on that topic.

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by chadg View Post
    Do you think it is possible to make about a 10'x12' - 14' tarp for under $40?

It needs to be light and help keep the rain off of 4 people sitting under it.