Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie gonna buy a Warbonnet. Have a couple questions.

Hey i'm new to hammocks and am considering buying a warbonnet XLC hammock after reading a lot on this great site.

I'm 6'2, 185lbs. I'll be backpacking and bicycle camping. I plan to camp for as long as 1-2wks at a time. Given that I'll be hiking, weight is a factor (not so much of a factor when I'm biking though).

Right now my camping will be in the Northeast US in the summer and fall, but who knows where my travels will take me in the future.

My questions:

1. Double layer 1.1, double layer 1.7 or Single layer 1.7?

2. If I order the whoopies, does it come straps as well? I would like to have both and try them both out.

Hammock
    Sierra Madre Ninox
    Tarp
    DIY 12x10/Stratos
    Insulation
    HG UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    Straps/Amsteel UCR
    Images
    What type of insulation are you planning on using? Pad or UQ?

I was planning on starting with a pad, then if I decide to camp in a colder climate/season at some point get an UQ.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    WB and UGQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies or Straps
    Images
    I would go for the DL 1.1. You can buy Whoopies by themselves or you can buy a complete Whoopie and Strap suspension.
    Don't let life get in the way of living.

The Beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota
    Hammock
    WARBONNET 1.1 DOUBLE, DIY BRIDGE
    Tarp
    DIY ARGON CAMO/BMJ
    Insulation
    DIY DOWN TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    STRAPS/BUCKLES
    i'm bigger than you (6'3" - #200) and i have a 1.1 double blackbird that is plenty big for me and weighs less than the equivalent xlc if weight really is an issue to you when you hike, also $25 cheaper

boot
    The surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that it has never tried to contact us. ~Bill Watterson

Hammock
    WB XLC
    Tarp
    WB SuperFly
    Insulation
    HG 20 Inc/Burrow
    Images