Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Hennessy Epd deluxe
    Tarp
    Equinox 10 x 12

Just ordered my new Hennessy expedition deluxe.

Hey Just ordered my new hammock should be in later next week. Was thinking of ordering so rings and caribeners from dutch or someone. Should i try it out with factory suspension first and see if I like it or should I just go ahead and order. Any insight would be helpful. Thanks

I'm pretty new myself, but the best thing I did was whoopie slings, and the fly on a separate ridgeline. I am glad I used the stock suspension the first couple times though. Always good to have a backup method.

I've got the Exped and right now it's still totally stock since I'm fairly new to hanging. I figure that while I've read a heck of a lot about various modifications, I'm in no hurry. I'd rather exhaust the possibilities of the stock setup, explore the envelope of what's possible, before making a change that may be irrevocable. For instance, I slept out in the back yard last night and tried a different setup (basically a new knot for easier adjustment and a very slack hang). The knot worked. The extra slack did not. Now I know and can move on.

The first and most likely changes I'll make to my setup will be things that are reversible if I don't like them. For instance, I've ordered some line and will make an adjustable separate ridgeline for the tarp. Maybe I'll get a larger tarp after that. I'll be more deliberate and step slowly when it comes to adding a zipper (I've got the bottom loader) or changing out the suspension altogether.

Hammock
    DH Dangerbird/WB RR
    Tarp
    Warbonnet Superfly
    Insulation
    AE New River MM TQ
    Suspension
    webbing/buckle
    Images
    In my case I've kept the stock suspension but added biners and rings. I don't mind tying knots, but the stock setup lacks the ability to do quick adjustments to fine tune the lay. The biners and rings allow me to make quick adjustments with the stock suspension.