Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    ENO Singlenest
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Suspension
    Atlas Straps

Noob here. Ridgeline question.

Based off of what I've seen here on the forum and the youtube video's that I've watched it seems that most people have a ridgeline set up that they reuse every time. Is that observation generally correct? If so, what length of cord do you use for your ridge line? I know that every hang is different as most trees are of different size and length apart. Reason I'm asking is that I'm looking at the continuous ridgeline sold by Dutch Ware. I like the idea of not having to fiddle with any of the knots and what not, but is the 30ft length long enough for most situations?
    TIA
    -Matt

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    UGQ Ambush
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    I used to have a 24' Amsteel ridgeline, but too often it was just a little short. I have since replaced it with a 30' lash it, and seems to work out much better, especially for those large diameter trees, I also bring an extra 6' tree strap, for the same reason. Now I am able to hang from the largest trees, at least here in the Northeast.

The part of the ridgeline that goes between the ends of the hammock should be around 80% of the length of the hammock, though mine is a bit longer than that. You have to experiment to find the length that makes you most comfortable.

Once you find the right length for you, you'll probably want to "lock it in" somehow so you can have a consistent setup.

I considered using a single line that would go from one end about 10 ft, have a knot holding one end of the hammock, come across the top forming the ridgeline, have another knot holding the other end of the hammock, then go out another 10 ft.