Hammock
    eno doublenest
    Insulation
    Hg 0 incubator
    Suspension
    atlas straps
    Images

Scared of the rain

Hey all, I'm still a newbie and feel like I will be for a long time!!! I have an Eno dn setup with slapstraps and the dryfly. Took my first real overnighter with my new 0 degree hg incubator two weeks ago and was fortunate to have great weather (didn't even use the fly). However, I am petrified of getting caught in a thunderstorm, when it rains in the Tetons it doesn't rain straight down and I don't feel I have the coverage I need to keep me and my down dry. I am fairly new to backpacking and very new to hanging, so if anyone has any suggestions on staying dry or lightweight tarps that offer more protection, please send them my way. I don't want to go back to ground (especially after all the dough I've put into hammocking) but need to feel a little more protected from the elements before I commit to more than just overnighters.

Hammock
    DIY, Dutch Argon
    Tarp
    Squidbilly/Tadpole
    Insulation
    20 Incubator,WL SS
    Suspension
    whoopies, MSH
    We have sideways rain dumps here. Pitch your tarp lower and closer to your hammock when you anticipate rain and try to pitch in a protected area. I don't know if you can do this with a dryfly, but I can use my rain poncho as a door in my Tadpole for more protection from blowing rain. Or, go with a regular rectangular tarp with doors. I also have an underquilt protector from 2QZQ which protects my UQ from rain splash and also adds a few degrees of warmth for little money or weight.
    Keep movin', keep believing and enjoy the journey!

Hammock
    Clark DLX, ENO SN, BIAS WWM
    Tarp
    OxPalace,Big Squid
    Insulation
    Oxgear, KAQ, WL
    Suspension
    Whoopies/Dutchware
    Images
    Grannypat's advice is golden. At 10' 6" x 5' 2" the dryfly doesn't really keep you too dry. There are many wider tarps out there for roughly the same price as the dryfly.