Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images

NY> ADK>Little Tupper Lake to Lake Lila Traverse>8/13 to 8/17/14

Who: SilvrSurfr and his two sons, 22-year-old VanillaPudge, and 15-year-old Shelf Life
    HF Member SilentOrpheus
    SilvrSurfr's friend Gmarc from Boston
    What: 5th Annual ADK Canoe Trip
    When: 8/13 to 8/17 2014
    Where: Little Tupper Lake to Lake Lila Traverse
    Why: Because a recent court case opened up Mud Pond and part of the Shingle Shanty Brook (private land) to the public, thereby eliminating a .8 mile portage from the trip. The landowner Brandreth appealed and the court case will be heard October/November. Till then, it's open to the public!

I've been scoping out this trip for a few years, but the number of portages sounded discouraging:

1) 200 yard portage over Rock Pond bridge.
    2) 1.75 mile portage from Rock Pond to Hardigan Pond
    3) .25 mile portage from Hardigan Pond to Little Salmon Lake (this turned out to be the worst of all of them)
    4) 1/8 mile portage around waterfall on Brandreth land.
    5) 1/3 mile portage from Lake Lila to parking lot.

None of us have ever portaged a canoe more than 1/3 of a mile - there were serious doubts if we could do it. Last year we walked the Rock Pond to Hardigan Pond 1.75 mile portage (sans canoes) and everyone was in agreement that it was too tough for us. However, after the recent court case that opened up Brandreth's private land for paddling, I decided that I was going to do it, even if I had to do it alone. After much cajoling, the rest of the crew agreed to participate. We focused on being able to portage in one trip with backpack and canoe.

After months of planning, we finally got under way.

Wed 8/13