Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    Hennesy Explorer Deluxe Zip
    Tarp
    HH Hex - for xmas

Swapping HH suspension rope

I know this May be a bit soon as I only have one hang in my explorer deluxe zip but I not a big fan of the long rope suspension. I really like the idea of the short amsteel loop with the rappel rings and webbing. I watched a video on how to change out the suspension rope and it looks real easy to do. I did a search on DIY gear supply and it says the breaking strength of amsteel is 2400lbs. That's crazy for such a small cord. I am 265lbs so I am guessing it will work. I am new to this so I need to know the advantages or disadvantages of doing this and with my weight and such a small cord could it damage the hammock or other gear some how. Right now I am using tree huggers with a caribiner and descending rinds and running the rope through the rings. I just want to drop some bulk and weight while speeding up setup and takedown
    Last edited by Bstomper; 08-23-2014 at 11:29.

Hammock
    WBBB XLC/Hennessy EXP
    Tarp
    Hennessy Hex
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Webbing
    I would say to hang AT LEAST 5 more times before making any changes. The more you hang the more you know what you want. I made the swap too fast and ended up changing the suspension 3 times until I got what was right for me.

One thing to consider is how you are going to hang your tarp after you change the suspension.

Hammock
    Tarp
    HH Hex - for xmas
    Yeah it may be a bit premature. I am going to get a hex tarp and hang the fly separate. That way I can do what I want with it.

Hammock
    WBBB XLC/Hennessy EXP
    Tarp
    Hennessy Hex
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Webbing
    Check out rei.com. They have a sale right now. You may even consider the UST tube tarp if you don't want to spend quite as much.

Hammock
    Variable
    Tarp
    Surperfly
    Insulation
    Incubator/Burrow
    Suspension
    Variable