Homemade 10.5ft 1.1 OSY Nylon DL
    Tarp
    PE Drop Cloth
    Insulation
    CCF pad
    Suspension
    Whoopies, no HW

Please Tell Me Why I'm Wrong

I'm completely new to this, so maybe I just don't know any better, but it seems like most of the suspension systems I've seen just seem way overcomplicated and/or heavy and/or expensive. I was thinking about using something like the SLS but even simpler. Kinda like this:
    Hang.png

It's just one continuous line used as a combination suspension and ridgeline. You attach one end of the line to a tree strap with a bowline or [insert knot of your choice]. Then you attach the other end to the other tree strap with a trucker's hitch so that it's adjustable, but you could probably eye the right line length for the hang you wanted right off with practice. After that you make a slip knot in the line at the location you want one end of the hammock and attach your hammock to the loop it forms via an s-hook (mine came with s-hooks). Do the same thing at the other end of the hammock, making sure to get the RL length right, and you're done. You could add a tarp and drip lines, underquilt, or whatever. Okay, it sounds complicated to type it all out, but you can see from the picture, it's really very very simple.

Please explain to me if/why this won't work.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 Dbl
    Tarp
    DIY CF Asym
    Insulation
    Zpacks HGincubator
    Suspension
    Webbing
    You can reduce weight by using lighter material for the ridgeline or by forgoing it completely. (As you would still have to measure out the ridgeline whenever you move the s-hooks.)

I often hang off of fruit trees, which don't really have to many tie in point options when you're far away from the next tree. I like the quick flexibility of the standard system for this purpose.

That being said, I really hope you try it, and post results. This could be interesting...

Images
    It doesn't get much simpler than straps and buckles.