Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Which Brand to buy

I am new at hammock camping and have seen many types and brands of hammocks! I want to get a hammock for backpacking but do'nt want to spend alot of money. I do go with my daughter alot so the tent I have is the way to go bot I do hike by myself also. Any ideas on what kind to get?

Hammock
    JRB Bear Mtn. Bridge
    Tarp
    BlackCat/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Pad(s)/JRB Quilts
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by slongenberger View Post
    I am new at hammock camping and have seen many types and brands of hammocks! I want to get a hammock for backpacking but do'nt want to spend alot of money. I do go with my daughter alot so the tent I have is the way to go bot I do hike by myself also. Any ideas on what kind to get?
    If you can sew or know someone who does, a homemade hammock would be your cheapest option. You'd also have to have some kind of bugnet in the warmer months. Not needed in colder weather.
    I have both Speer and Hennessy hammocks. I think they are both great.
    The best all in one set-up IMO without upgrading to better tarp or anything is probably the new Speer hammock. It is a foot longer than before at 9' and the new cat cut tarp looks really nice. It is $200 though.
    You could scan ebay for deals on a hennessy hammock and e-mail hennessy and ask for their demo/sale list.
    Dont know if it is still for sale but this is a great price if it fits your size:
    www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25214
    Trek light and Eno hammocks are lower priced options also.
    Welcome to the forum
    Last edited by FanaticFringer; 06-20-2007 at 20:08.
    "Every day above ground is a good day"

Hammock
    DIY, gathered end , w/ spreader
    Tarp
    JRB Universal
    Insulation
    DAM/ HG Incubator
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images