DIY
    Tarp
    Cheap Camo Tarp
    Insulation
    DIY Underquilt
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopie Slings

Hammock designs

I want to build a hammock for myself, by myself.

Pardon me for asking this, but I'm quite new to hammocking - there are so many different hammock designs out there, that I'm confused. I know each one has it's own pro's and con's, but what is considered to be a good comfortable design to make? Lemme know if I'm opening a can of worms here. I've read as many posts as I can and It seems there are only really 2 designs, - gathered/knotted end and bridge hammocks. Is this correct?

I know a little about gathered end hammocks (it's what I have), but I'm a tall person 6' 2" and 250 in weight. I'm not concerned about ultralight. I am concerned about comfort. The bridge hammock looks interesting, but complicated. I'm unfortunately math challenged but very good in mechanics.
    Is it really as comfy as many claim? Is it easier to make than it seems? Lost_Biker say's he'll help me, but doesn't know much about bridge hammocks and I want to do as much on my own as possible. LB will help with the sewing by teaching me OJT style and correcting me after I make mistakes. He says something about seam rippers being your friend.

Thanks for any help you nice people can give me. Oh, and pictures help!

Hammock
    GrizzBridge Ariel
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Winter
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Images
    I find bridge hammocks very comfortable, more so than a gathered end hammock, PROVIDED I'm not trying to curl up. The walls of a bridge keep you from pulling your knees up.