Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Manchego's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Middletown, MD
    Hammock
    Clark NX200/HH Asym Exp zipmod4
    Tarp
    Stock tarp f both
    Insulation
    HH Reflective Pad
    Suspension
    Stock/Whoopies
    Posts
    392
    Images
    2

    Catty wompus with Comcast's DNS again

    Can't find HF normally, I go through a proxy (in this case HideMyAss.com) and it works fine. Thinking you guys have dropped off someone's DNS, not sure why. Had this problem before, seemed to fix when a moderator asked about it, maybe somebody did something?

  2. #2
    Senior Member angrysparrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    near Memphis, TN
    Hammock
    WB Traveler
    Tarp
    ZPacks CF
    Insulation
    Te-Wa / HG / WB
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hooks
    Posts
    9,686
    Images
    92
    No issue with the forum or server, and no changes made. If your DNS provider doesn't forward correctly, that's an issue on their end. Perhaps try a non-ISP provider like OpenDNS.

    Previous issues that members thought were DNS related have been traced to same users trying incorrect passwords too many times, and getting blocked. Those blocks expire within 24 hours usually.
    I think that when the lies are all told and forgot the truth will be there yet. It dont move about from place to place and it dont change from time to time. You cant corrupt it any more than you can salt salt. - Cormac McCarthy

  3. #3
    Manchego's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Middletown, MD
    Hammock
    Clark NX200/HH Asym Exp zipmod4
    Tarp
    Stock tarp f both
    Insulation
    HH Reflective Pad
    Suspension
    Stock/Whoopies
    Posts
    392
    Images
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by angrysparrow View Post
    No issue with the forum or server, and no changes made. If your DNS provider doesn't forward correctly, that's an issue on their end. Perhaps try a non-ISP provider like OpenDNS.

    Previous issues that members thought were DNS related have been traced to same users trying incorrect passwords too many times, and getting blocked. Those blocks expire within 24 hours usually.
    No, I'm good with that, it simply won't resolve. As I said, I go to a proxy server and it works fine, I can't even get to a sign in page otherwise, I get "server timed out" error.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Beaver Falls, PA
    Hammock
    DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    DIY Big Ol' Tarp
    Insulation
    DIY UQ, Mummy TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopish Things
    Posts
    172
    No, Comcast's DNS servers are just the joke of the ISP world.

    Change your default DNS server on your PC (in the advanced settings on your wifi or ethernet card under TCP/IP V4) to 8.8.8.8 or 8.8.4.4. These are Google's public DNS servers.

    I had to do this to get around their intentional degradation of Netflix and Hulu. They are the very worst in the industry about traffic shaping, deep packet inspection, intentional degradation of competitors' services, and customer service in general.

    They suck so hard, I'm switching to Verizon, and I hate Verizon. I keep hoping against hope that Armstrong Cable expands their service area out this way. They're excellent.

    If - if he stood! Enough of ifs!
    He knew a path that wanted walking
    He knew a spring that wanted drinking
    A thought that wanted further thinking.
    A love that wanted re-renewing

    "A Lone Striker" Robert Frost

  5. #5
    but enough about me hppyfngy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Crozet, Virginia
    Hammock
    The one in the van
    Tarp
    CamoHexMonster
    Insulation
    Fluff
    Suspension
    Flying Trapeze
    Posts
    3,217
    Images
    36
    Hmm. I recently switched back to Comcast after they offered me a stupid good deal and I haven't had any issues at all.
    Caution: Happy Fun Guy may suddenly accelerate to dangerous speeds.
    If Happy Fun Guy begins to smoke, get away immediately. Seek shelter and cover head.
    Do not taunt Happy Fun Guy. - Randy

    TDStand Instructions

    TDStand Disclaimer! I'm Not Kidding!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    Superfly/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Polarpod / UGQ
    Suspension
    straps/rings
    Posts
    92
    If its only a few sites you have issues with, you can put some static entries in the host file on your computer. (assuming they're not using dynamic DNS)

  7. #7
    Manchego's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Middletown, MD
    Hammock
    Clark NX200/HH Asym Exp zipmod4
    Tarp
    Stock tarp f both
    Insulation
    HH Reflective Pad
    Suspension
    Stock/Whoopies
    Posts
    392
    Images
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by timdgsr View Post
    If its only a few sites you have issues with, you can put some static entries in the host file on your computer. (assuming they're not using dynamic DNS)
    Tutorial/reference?

    I'll try it this eve. Funny part is, office didn't use to work, home did, now office works, home doesn't.

  8. #8
    Manchego's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Middletown, MD
    Hammock
    Clark NX200/HH Asym Exp zipmod4
    Tarp
    Stock tarp f both
    Insulation
    HH Reflective Pad
    Suspension
    Stock/Whoopies
    Posts
    392
    Images
    2
    Rats, now I'm toast in the office too.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    Superfly/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Polarpod / UGQ
    Suspension
    straps/rings
    Posts
    92
    Sorry about the thread resurrection, I never came back to this one for some reason.

    The "hosts" file is just a manual mapping of IP address to DNS name. The local hosts file is checked prior to checking with DNS servers, if an entry is found it doesn't bother checking with DNS, it just uses that entry.

    This article covers how to change entries in the hosts file for windows/mac/ubuntu.

    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/27350...ur-hosts-file/

    Hopefully your issues have been resolved and you won't have to mess with this.

  10. #10
    tweety's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Eugene Oregon
    Hammock
    Tree2Tree Switchback..Pink Panther
    Tarp
    AHE Toxiway Lylac!
    Insulation
    Golite top/BF UQ
    Suspension
    Webbing/Dutch Clip
    Posts
    63
    We have had this same problem with Century Link...it is your service provider who needs to reset their servers. When I cannot log onto HF through them I use google chrome and I do not need the proxy server

    tweety
    LIVE.. LOVE.. LAUGH... AND DRIVE BF CRAZY!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •