Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Three point hammock?

Hello, I'm new to hammocking and looking to solve some issues I have with nausea. I found out after buying my first hammock that I get seasick from the swaying. I've dried dramamine, and it works but leaves me feeling a little funky.

What I'm trying to do is create a hammock with three tie offs instead of the usual two. My first attempt was just to see if the three point hammock would solve the issue, so I ran some PVC through the channel on one end of my Grand Trunk Nano 7.

The PVC bent like hell, but it did stabilize me enough that nausea wasn't an issue. SO what I want to know is if anyone has made a three point hammock before, or have any ideas on materials or methods to attempt.

Thanks so much!

Hammock
    WBBB,WBRR,DIY
    Tarp
    HG WP,WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Whoopies&DutchGear
    Images
    This is not a 3 point hammock idea, but have you tried adding tie-outs to the side of your hammock, similar to a WBBB or a HH? I have found that these pretty much get rid of any swing I had in the hammock.

Hammock
    HH Exped Zip
    Tarp
    HH Hex
    Insulation
    Burrow / Incubator
    Suspension
    WS, DBuckles
    +1 on the timeouts... Then there is this http://www.madtree.fi/napsack.html cold weather option

Quote Originally Posted by raiffnuke View Post
    This is not a 3 point hammock idea, but have you tried adding tie-outs to the side of your hammock, similar to a WBBB or a HH? I have found that these pretty much get rid of any swing I had in the hammock.
    That sounds much easier and less weighty! Do you use shock cord or static? When I was looking at the WBBB (in pictures) it just didn't look substantial enough to stop sway, but I don't know anyone with one that I could mess around with.

I'll give it a try.

Quote Originally Posted by sparkytxn View Post
    +1 on the timeouts... Then there is this http://www.madtree.fi/napsack.html cold weather option