Hennesy Ultra-Exp., Warbonnet BB
    Tarp
    Hennesy Hex
    Insulation
    Homebrew UQ & CCF
    Suspension
    Line and strap

Need ideas for a bus hammock - bear with me it's a long post

I'm fairly new around here. Mostly reading and gleaning. Not much experience to share...yet. With that said I humbly come to you Gravity Defying Elders of Suspended Blissful Slumber for wisdom.

I'm a teacher/bus driver/parent/sponsor/substitute coach at school. I make too many trips a year where sleeping on the bus is likely if not mandatory. My 6'2" frame does not fit in a seat very well when seated much less if I am trying to catch a nap before my turn to drive. I can usually wrangle a pair of seats to crash in but it is just an effort in frustration to try to get comfortable. Stringing a hammock across the bus is temping but just not feasible.

Soooo, I started thinking about hammocks and hammock chairs and wonder if I could make a "hammock" that could be strung over the seat cushion portion of the pair seats. This would allow my upper body to be in a more natural sleep position and my legs...well...I'm not too sure about them yet. They may just dangle (which I'm sure would get uncomfortable) or maybe I would make a foot loop. They may just end up on the edge of the seat across the aisle.

Here are the restrictions:
    • It cannot hang from the overhead rack (too much weight)
    • It cannot extend into the aisle (safety)
    • It cannot attach to the side of the bus, window frame, or arms of the seats (weight issue again)
    • It cannot extend into another seats space.

What it needs to do:
    • Be reasonable flexible in mounting options
    • Be easy to transport
    • Be easy to set up
    • Support 200+ lbs
    • Support without touching the seat cushions

Without much sitting in a bus and scheming yet I have come up with this idea.