Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Hammock
    Wal-Mart Equip
    Tarp
    GG Emergncy Sheltr
    Insulation
    DIY PLUQ/Foam/Net
    Suspension
    Amsteel/Tech Line
    Posts
    24

    Prusik that stays on Tech Line

    I recently got some 1.9mm Tech Line from DIY Gear Supply, and was having a hard time getting a prusik knot to hold on it. I was originally trying to get a prusik of 1.9mm Tech Line to hold on itself, but it wouldn't really hold very well.

    What I eventually did was take 3 strands out of a length of 550 cord, braided them together, and tied them with a double fisherman's. Voila! Holds pretty well, but will slip under really heavy load. I'm using it on a 14' cat cut tarp as an "over" ridgeline. It didn't slip from ~5-10mph wind and me pulling/tugging on the tarp. However, if I pull directly on the biner clipped to the prusik it will give. We have some 15-25+mph winds and rain coming up soon so we'll see how it does then.

    I'm testing out all my new gear so hopefully I made everything correctly and set it all up correctly

    Hope the Tech Line prusik info helps someone else.

  2. #2
    New Member Spyvenom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Gastonia,NC
    Hammock
    As of now...Eno DoubleNest (stc)
    Tarp
    Don't have one yet
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Posts
    47

    Prusik that stays on Tech Line

    Ah. I am having the same problem and a newbie so any info you get will aid me as well.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Hammock
    Wal-Mart Equip
    Tarp
    GG Emergncy Sheltr
    Insulation
    DIY PLUQ/Foam/Net
    Suspension
    Amsteel/Tech Line
    Posts
    24
    Sweet! FWIW, I had to do 5 turns on the 550 cord prusik for it to stay.

    This was the quick method I used to make my prusiks. I pulled out about 4 feet of the inside 500 cord. Braided the whole length and tied it off. Then I tied off sections of different lengths with two knots and cut in between the knots. The reason I tied off different lengths was to make larger and smaller loops for prusiks of different lengths/wraps.

    If "~" is braided section and "*" are knots, it was like this:


    (knot on end)~~~~~~~~~~*~*~~~~~~~~*~*~~~~*~*~~(knot on end)

    I only give a detailed explanation of the knotting, because the first time I tried cutting the braid without knotting off sections.....and it all unraveled and I had to start over.

  4. #4
    Agfadoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Up North
    Hammock
    Dangerbird, HHED
    Tarp
    WB Superfly Camo
    Insulation
    HG UQ, SS
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Posts
    642
    Images
    96
    I used the cheap nylon (non coated) cord that came with my guide gear tarp.

    think any non coated material should work as long as you don't have two coated, it should work fine as a tie out.

  5. #5
    fallkniven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NJ
    Hammock
    JRB BMBH
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    UGQ
    Posts
    2,099
    Images
    447
    I have used a prusik with that tech line a few times. Use it right now on my Molly Mac Gear Box. It will definitely will hold, just need more wraps. I think I get 3 or 4 to hold. Also, if using a continuous loop, make sure only one strand is wrapped, not the part which has a bury, making the cord thicker.

  6. #6
    Mountnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Waynesville, Ohio
    Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG TQ&UQ, DIY
    Suspension
    Whoopies or rings
    Posts
    1,836
    Quote Originally Posted by fallkniven View Post
    I have used a prusik with that tech line a few times. Use it right now on my Molly Mac Gear Box. It will definitely will hold, just need more wraps. I think I get 3 or 4 to hold. Also, if using a continuous loop, make sure only one strand is wrapped, not the part which has a bury, making the cord thicker.
    +1 on more wraps, that should do it
    "I love not man the less, but Nature more."
    Byron

  7. #7
    old4hats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Ball Ground, Ga.
    Posts
    1,864
    Braided mason's line from Home Depot will also work. I even have some small continuous loops of the braided line that work well on the tech line as prussics.

  8. #8
    Yoda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Hammock
    Darien UL
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Hex
    Insulation
    HG Down
    Suspension
    Dynaglide UCR's
    Posts
    5,248
    I have used both sizes of the tech line and have had no issues with it holding. I am currently using the 1.2 on one of my cuben tarps tie outs, line and prussic are made from the 1.2 and hold perfectly fine, I think mine has 5 or 6 wraps. Also the line is fairly stiff when new, after a bit of use it softens a little (just enough to grab and work better than it did when new).
    Formerly known as "Cranky Bear"....

    "yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift---thats why its called a present" - Master Oogway

    It's always best if your an early riser!

    I like hiking as it's like exercise!

    My Blog

  9. #9
    Senior Member JohnSawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Hammock
    WB RidgeRunner
    Tarp
    8x10 DIY (speer)
    Insulation
    KAQ Lost River
    Suspension
    Straps
    Posts
    4,696
    Images
    108

    Re: Prusik that stays on Tech Line

    Personally, I like the klemheist knot. It is easier to tie and holds a load in one direction only...

    http://www.animatedknots.com/klemheist/index.php

    It uses the same prussik loop, I have been successful with braided mason's line..... works on zing-it, too....
    "Do or do not, there is no try." -- Yoda


  10. #10
    Country Roads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Central West Virginia
    Hammock
    WB Blackbird 1.1 single/MBM UL
    Tarp
    z-packs cuben
    Insulation
    3S Phoenix UQ
    Suspension
    UCR's & straps
    Posts
    457
    Images
    21
    My own experience: If line for the prussic loop is smaller diameter than what I am putting it on, I loop the prussic twice.
    If the lines are same diameter, I loop the prussic 3 times, which seems to hold well.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •