Clark TX-250
    Tarp
    Clark Vertex Tarp
    Insulation
    Kifaru;HammockGear
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images

How much do I need to worry about condensation?

Okay, so I am totally new to winter camping. Prior to becoming a hanger I've only camped in mild weather, except for one car camping experience down to 32 F with like a gazillion blankets and a tent roommate who was a furnace.

Now that I am a hanger, and the owner of a HG Incubator, I've been testing my winter limits. So far I've made it down to 16* F (with 10-15 mph steady winds and occasional gusts) and was toasty warm. It was an awesome experience. The more I cold weather test, the more totally hooked on winter camping I become.

The night I slept out in 16 F, I woke up around 4 AM just a little cold because my top layers had gapped a little in my sleep, letting in some cold air. When I started to double check that everything was tucked back around me, I discovered that the top layer of my sleeping bag (I was using it like a top quilt) was absolutely soaked in spots. There were wet spots and ice crystals all along my bugnetting/weathershield as well, right above my head. I realized that I had forgotten to vent my weathershield. Oops. At this point, I decided to get out and pee, and when I unzipped, moisture and ice crystals sprinkled down on me like a mini storm.