Tarp
    Dutch Xenon SilHex
    Insulation
    HGIncubator/Burrow
    Suspension
    Dutch BeetleBuckle
    Images

Tarp Tensioners specs and additional tips for making them

Well, I just had to make those tarp tensioners part deux from Jeffs site. I almost gave up trying to get the surgical tubing (sling shot replacement kit) over the bights. Thank goodness I decided to try and heat the rubber up in some boiling water (keep the rubber off the hot pan). Perhaps it's just that I'm new to hammocks and working with these materials, but since a lot of the stuff that is probably common sense to most of you seasoned hanger DIY'ers, I thought I would do a quick write up on how I made them and the tension pounds and weight. The main instructions are on Jeffs site: http://www.tothewoods.net/HomemadeGe...ensioner2.html, I am only trying to explain where I was hung up following his instructions and offer some tips that helped me finally make them.

TarpTensioner_all_done.jpg

STEP 1
    Materials for one tensioner is pretty straight forward (though I ended up cutting about 9 inches from the 36 inchers)
    - One ~5" piece of surgical tubing
    - A ~36" section of cord
    - Two ~9" pieces of small string. I used inner core from 550-cord.
    my comments - I got the surgical tube from Walmart (cut from a sling shot my son was very upset I bought just to destroy). Walmart doesn't have the slingshot replacement kit any more though, you will have to pay for a slingshot (or order surgical tubing online).
    36" ended up being a bit long, but ok to start with. I too used the inner core from 550 cord. At first I didn't know what that meant, until I went ahead took a piece apart to find 7 strands inside that pulled out very easily - PHEWY.

STEP2
    I formed the bight with an overhand knot
    my comments - I embarrassingly had to look up what a "bight" was.

STEP3
    Put the cord inside the tube, and pull the tubing up over the knot about .5".